• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Introduction to the Ukulele Class to be held at Altoona Library

Join Mike Holzer for a workshop with a touch of the tropics. Registration is required - call 946-0417. The cost is $5.00. If you have a ukulele please bring it, if not, one will be provided. 

Audience: 
Everyone

Jay Paterno to give presentation at Altoona Library

Jay Paterno, author of Paterno Legacy: Enduring Lessons from the Life and Death of My Father will be at the Altoona Area Public Library on Thursday, February 19th at 6pm in the library theater for a presentation and book signing.  All are welcome to attend.  Books will be available for purchase.

Jay is offering the library a portion of the sales from the evening.

Audience: 
Everyone

Friends of the Library Present Check

On February 9, 2015 “Friends” Helen Gorsuch (left) and Ann Wolf (right) presented a check for $50,000.00 to Executive Director, Jennifer Knisely (center) for the Altoona Area Public Library. The Friends of the Altoona Area Public Library are always seeking new "Friends" to assist with fund raisers and semi-annual used book sales.

Audience: 
Everyone